To save one life is to save all of humanity. - Holy Quran

Emergency Medicine

Emergency medicine includes any conditions that require immediate medical assistance.

At Medcare, we have an all-inclusive team of qualified emergency physicians with specialization in disaster medicine, medical toxicology, ultrasonography, critical care medicine, hyperbaric medicine, sports medicine, and palliative care. As the first line of defence, for emergency patients, our physicians initiate resuscitation and stabilization and start investigations and interventions to treat illnesses in the acute phase.

Medcare’s Emergency Medicine Department is prepared 24/7 to deal with any kind of injuries or diseases which require immediate medical attention. Our state-of-the-art facilities equipped with the latest technology and staffed with qualified intensivists are always ready to be ‘life-savers’ in any emergency situation!

Some conditions that require urgent and immediate consideration:

Broken bones result in a visibly out-of-place limb or joint, swelling, bruising or bleeding, intense pain, numbness and tingling, broken skin with bone protruding, and an inability to move a limb. This may happen due to a fall from a height, trauma, car accident, or a direct blow. Repetitive forces, such as those caused by running, can cause stress fractures of the foot, ankle, tibia, or hip. It becomes an emergency situation if the person loses consciousness or there is a suspected broken bone in the head, neck, or back.

Chest Pain - does not always mean a heart attack, it may be an indication of angina, a panic attack, severe digestive problems, pneumonia, pleurisy or pulmonary embolism or inflammation of the joints in your chest.  Immediate attention is required if there is crushing pain or pressure in the chest, or chest pain along with nausea, sweating, dizziness or shortness of breath.
 
Difficulty in Breathing - There are a number of lung conditions like asthma, pneumonia, COPD, pulmonary embolism, pulmonary hypertension, croup, and epiglottitis apart from certain heart conditions that can cause you to experience difficulty in breathing.  Such patients may gasp as they feel as though they can’t breathe in, enough oxygen. They may display a faster breathing rate, wheezing, blue fingernails, excessive sweating, or flaring nostrils.
 
Emergency Cancer Care – is required when patients display severe symptoms related to cancer or side effects of their treatment like febrile neutropenia (high fever), severe vomiting, dehydration, respiratory distress, spinal cord compression or acute pain. If their condition worsens or they are distressed, the first place that a patient will contact is the Emergency Department. So, our expert physicians quickly evaluate clinical, laboratory, and radiographic tests, and are able to manage complex critical conditions, especially when there are few or no clinical records available.

Our experienced and well-trained staff is always present to assist with the management of these symptoms or treatment of side effects.

Emergency Ultrasound Services - Fast, high-quality imaging at the point of care saves lives, increases patient safety, and improves clinician efficiency. Having ultrasound available at any time simply lowers the threshold for life-threatening conditions. According to R.Adams Cowley, MD, “there is a golden hour between life and death.” So, treatment of trauma patients during the first 60 minutes after an injury, or critically injured trauma patients, becomes imperative. Increased focus on improving patient safety, while simultaneously providing cost-effective care, is achieved with ultrasound at the bedside and error reduction through ultrasound-guidance of needle procedures.

Heart Attacks - This is a life-threatening emergency that requires quick action. Immediate treatment reduces damage to the heart muscle and saves lives. Warning signals may include chest discomfort that feels like pressure or squeezing pain or pain and discomfort that radiates from beyond your chest to other parts of your upper body. This may be accompanied by unexplained shortness of breath, profuse sweating, nausea, fatigue, anxiety and indigestion.

Heavy or Uncontrolled Bleeding - can be either internal or external. While external heavy bleeding is obvious, internal bleeding is not always apparent. Symptoms of internal bleeding may include loss of consciousness, bleeding from a body opening, such as the mouth, ear, or anus, painful or swollen abdomen, coughing up blood and cold, clammy skin.

Trauma is often the cause of heavy bleeding. This can include blunt, crush, or penetrating trauma. Wounds that bleed heavily are those involving arteries and large veins lead to rapid blood loss and infection. Internal bleeding is a medical emergency.

Loss of Consciousness - There are many reasons for loss of consciousness, some primary reasons being a shock, drug overdose, low blood sugar, epileptic seizure, intoxication, brain injury, anaemia, concussion, and stroke or brain aneurysm. Our emergency physicians need to summon all their skills and experience to understand the underlying cause of loss of consciousness. So it is critical for them to gather information relating to the circumstances of the event like the person's posture immediately before losing consciousness, any sweating or jerking of the limbs and duration, appearance and colour of the person during the event, any biting of the tongue, or injury, any numbness felt, or information regarding any current medication that may have contributed to the condition.

– Occur when the blood supply to the brain is interrupted or when there’s bleeding in the Strokes brain. Its symptoms include blurred vision, tingling, weakness, or numbness on one side of the body, nausea, loss of bladder or bowel control, headache, dizziness, loss of balance or consciousness. How quickly the stroke was treated is critical. It only takes minutes for brain cells to start dying. The risk of disability decreases if clot-busting drugs are administered at the earliest.

Severe Pain - may be a manifestation of an emergency medical condition.  Patients who come to the emergency department are evaluated to determine the severity of their current illness and symptoms. We determine if the patient's current health condition requires hospital admission, or if the patient can be discharged from emergency care with applicable recommendations to seek additional diagnostic or physician evaluation in an outpatient clinic setting.

Toxicology services include acute drug overdoses, hazardous exposures to chemical products or toxic substances, and the management of drug withdrawal syndromes. The management of intoxicated patients requires skill and precision because of the challenge in the diagnosis and treatment of overdose cases. The highest priority lies in securing the airway and breathing and stabilizing the circulation. A focused physical examination will reveal clues about the substance which has been abused and the toxidromes.

Trauma or Burns - Trauma usually results in haemorrhage, multiple organ dysfunction syndrome, and cardiopulmonary arrest.  When a burn does occur, it is vitally important that the proper treatment is given quickly. First-degree and second-degree burns are smaller than the size of the patient's hand. If the area burned is larger than this, or involves functional parts of the body such as feet, face, eye, ears and groin or is located over major joints, more focused medical attention is needed. Other burns that are electrical, chemical, or related to lightening or result in inhalation injury need urgent medical attention too.

At Medcare, emergency physicians are trained to complete a quick and focused examination first, then make decisions based on the available information. An emergency physician is an expert who needs to ‘deliver’ in any situation that he is faced with.  If required, physicians from other medical and surgical specialities like trauma surgery, obstetrics, orthopaedics, and radiology are called for consultation, to assist in charting a plan of care for the patient while in the emergency room.

To know more about the modern and comprehensive facilities at the emergency medicine department at Medcare, do chat with Mira or Leo.

CALL DOCTOR NOW
REQUEST APPOINTMENT

وَمَنْ أَحْيَاهَا فَكَأَنَّمَا أَحْيَا النَّاسَ جَمِيعًا - القرآن الكريم

طب الطوارئ

يشمل طب الطوارئ أي حالات تتطلب مساعدة طبية فورية.

يوجد لدينا في "ميدكير" فريق شامل من أطباء الطوارئ المؤهلين المتخصصين في طب الكوارث وعلم السموم الطبية والتصوير بالموجات فوق الصوتية وطب الرعاية الحرجة  وطب الضغط العالي والطب الرياضي والرعاية التلطيفية. وبصفته طب الطوارئ هو خط الدفاع الأول، يبدأ أطباؤنا في تزويد مرضى حالات الطوارئ بالإنعاش وتحقيق الاستقرار وبدء الفحوصات والتدخلات لعلاج الأمراض في المرحلة الحادة.

يعمل قسم طب الطوارئ في "ميدكير" على مدار الساعة للتعامل مع أي نوع من الإصابات أو الأمراض التي تتطلب عناية طبية فورية. ودائماً تستعد أحدث المرافق المتوفرة لدينا والمجهزة بأحدث التقنيات والمزودة بأطباء العناية المركزة المؤهلين لإنقاذ حياة البشر في أي حالة طارئة!

فيما يلي بعض الحالات التي تتطلب دراسة عاجلة وفورية:

العظام المكسورة: تؤدي إلى ظهور طرف أو مكان خارج مكانه بشكل واضح أو تورم أو كدمات أو نزيف وألم شديد وتخدّر وتنميل وشق الجلد مع بروز العظم المكسور، وعدم القدرة على تحريك أحد الأطراف. وقد يحدث هذا بسبب السقوط من ارتفاع أو حدوث رضوح أو حادث سيارة أو سقوط مباشر. والقوى المتكررة هي مثل تلك القوى الناتجة عن الجري،  ويمكن أن تسبب كسور إجهاد القدم أو الكاحل أو الساق أو الفخذ. وتصبح حالة طارئة إذا فقد الشخص وعيه أو كان هناك اشتباه في عظم مكسور في منطقة الرأس أو الرقبة أو الظهر.

ألم الصدر - لا يعني دائماً حدوث نوبة قلبية، فقد يكون مؤشراً على الذبحة الصدرية أو نوبة هلع أو مشاكل حادة في الجهاز الهضمي أو التهاب رئوي أو التهاب الجنبة أو انسداد رئوي أو التهاب المفاصل في صدرك. ويتعين طلب اهتمام فوري إذا كان هناك ألم ضاغط أو ضغط في الصدر أو ألم في الصدر مع غثيان أو تعرق أو دوخة أو ضيق في التنفس.

صعوبة في التنفس - هناك عدد من الحالات التي تحدث للرئة مثل الربو والالتهاب الرئوي ومرض الانسداد الرئوي المزمن والانضمام الرئوي وارتفاع ضغط الدم الرئوي والخناق والتهاب لسان المزمار، وذلك بصرف النظر عن بعض أمراض القلب التي يمكن أن تسبب لك صعوبة في التنفس. وقد يلهث هؤلاء المرضى كما لو أنهم لا يستطيعون التنفس مع وجود ما يكفي من الأكسجين. وقد يكون معدل التنفس لديهم بشكل أسرع، أو يظهر عليهم صفير أو تزرق الأظافر أو تعرق زائد أو اتساع فتحتي الأنف.

رعاية مرضى السرطان في حالة الطوارئ - تُطلب هذه الرعاية عند ظهور أعراض حادة مرتبطة بالسرطان أو الآثار الجانبية لعلاجهم مثل حمى نقص العدلات (ارتفاع في درجة الحرارة) أو قيء شديد أو جفاف أو ضائقة تنفسية أو ضغط الحبل الشوكي أو ألم حاد. وإذا تفاقمت حالتهم أو أصيبوا بالاكتئاب، فإن أول ما سيتصل به المريض هو قسم الطوارئ. لذلك، يقوم أطباؤنا الخبراء بسرعة بتقييم الاختبارات السريرية والمخبرية واختبارات تصوير إشعاعي، ويكونون قادرين على إدارة الحالات الحرجة المعقدة، خاصةً عندما يكون هناك سجلات إكلينيكية قليلة أو لا تتوفر.

يتواجد موظفونا المتمرسون والمدربون جيداً دائماً للمساعدة في إدارة هذه الأعراض أو علاج الآثار الجانبية.

خدمات الموجات فوق الصوتية في حالات الطوارئ - إن التصوير السريع وعالي الجودة في نقطة الرعاية ينقذ الأرواح، ويزيد من سلامة المرضى، ويحسن كفاءة الطبيب. ويقلل وجود الموجات فوق الصوتية في أي وقت ببساطة عتبة الظروف التي تهدد الحياة. ويقول الدكتور/ آر. آدمز كاولي، دكتوراه في الطب أن: "هناك ساعة ذهبية بين الحياة والموت". لذلك، يصبح علاج مرضى الطوارئ خلال الستين دقيقة الأولى بعد الإصابة، أو مرضى الطوارئ المصابين بجروح خطيرة، أمراً ضرورياً. ويزيد التركيز على تحسين سلامة المرضى مع توفير رعاية فعالة من حيث التكلفة في الوقت نفسه، عن طريق الموجات فوق الصوتية في السرير والحد من الأخطاء من خلال توجيه الموجات فوق الصوتية لإجراءات الخزعة بالإبرة.

النوبات القلبية - هذه حالة طارئة تهدد الحياة وتتطلب تدخلاً سريعاً. حيث يقلل العلاج الفوري من الأضرار التي لحقت عضلة القلب، وينقذ الأرواح. وقد تتضمن إشارات التحذير إزعاجاً للصدر يشبه الضغط أو الألم الضاغط أو الألم أو الانزعاج الذي يشع من خارج صدرك إلى أجزاء أخرى من الجزء العلوي من جسمك. وقد يصاحب ذلك ضيق تنفس غير مبرر وتعرق غزير وغثيان وإرهاق وقلق وعسر هضم.

النزيف الحاد أو غير القابل للسيطرة - يمكن أن يكون هذا النزيف داخلياً أو خارجياً. في حين أن النزيف الحاد الخارجي واضح، إلا أن النزيف الداخلي ليس واضحاً دائماً. وقد تشمل أعراض النزيف الداخلي فقدان الوعي والنزيف من فتحة الجسم مثل الفم أو الأذن أو فتحة الشرج  أو ألم في البطن أو انتفاخ فيها وسعال مصحوب بخروج دم وبرد ورطوبة الجلد.

غالبا ما تكون الحالة الطارئة سبب النزيف الشديد. ويمكن أن يشمل ذلك حالة طارئة حادة أو ضاغطة أو نافذة. والجروح التي تنزف بشدة هي تلك التي تنطوي على الشرايين والأوردة الكبيرة وتؤدي إلى فقدان الدم السريع والعدوى. والنزيف الداخلي هو حالة طبية طارئة.

فقدان الوعي - هناك العديد من الأسباب التي تؤدي إلى فقدان الوعي، بعض الأسباب الرئيسة هي الصدمة وجرعة زائدة من المخدرات وانخفاض السكر في الدم ونوبة صرع وتسمم وإصابة دماغية وفقر الدم وارتجاج وسكتة دماغية أو تمدد في الأوعية الدموية الدماغي. ويحتاج أطباء الطوارئ لدينا إلى استدعاء كل مهاراتهم وخبراتهم لفهم السبب الأساسي حول فقدان الوعي. لذلك من المهم لهم جمع المعلومات المتعلقة بظروف الحدث مثل وضع الشخص مباشرة قبل فقدان الوعي أو التعرق أو الرجيج في الأطراف ومدة الشخص ومظهره ولونه أثناء الحدث، وأي عض للسان أو إصابة  أو أي شعور بالخدر أو معلومات تتعلق بأي عقار حالي قد يكون ساهم في حدوث هذه الحالة.

- ويحدث عند انقطاع تدفق الدم إلى المخ أو عند حدوث نزيف داخل الدماغ. وتشمل أعراضه عدم وضوح الرؤية أو تنميل أو ضعف أو خدر على جانب واحد من الجسم وغثيان أو فقدان السيطرة على المثانة أو الأمعاء أو صداع أو دوخة أو فقدان التوازن أو الوعي. ويكون مدى سرعة علاج السكتة الدماغية أمر بالغ الأهمية. حيث تستغرق خلايا الدماغ سوى دقائق للوفاة. وينخفض خطر الإصابة بالإعاقة إذا تم إعطاء الأدوية المضادة للخثرات في أقرب وقت ممكن.

الألم الحاد - قد يكون أحد مظاهر حالة الطوارئ الطبية. وفي هذا الألم يتم تقييم المرضى الذين يأتون إلى قسم الطوارئ لتحديد شدة مرضهم وأعراضهم الحالية. وحينها نحدد ما إذا كانت الحالة الصحية الحالية للمريض تتطلب دخول المستشفى، أو ما إذا كان يمكن إخراج المريض من الرعاية الطارئة مع توصيات يمكن استخدامها للحصول على تقييم تشخيصي أو استشارة طبيب إضافي في عيادة خارجية.

تشمل خدمات علم السموم تناول جرعات زائدة من العقاقير المخدرة، والتعرض الخطر للمنتجات الكيميائية أو المواد السامة  وإدارة متلازمة الأعراض الانسحابية للمخدرات. وتتطلب رعاية المرضى الذين يعانون من السموم مهارة ودقة بسبب التحدي في تشخيص وعلاج حالات الجرعة الزائدة. وتكمن الأولوية القصوى في تأمين مجرى الهواء والتنفس وتحقيق الاستقرار في الدورة الدموية. وسيكشف الفحص الجسمي المركّز عن أدلة حول المادة التي أسيء استخدامها ومتلازمات السميات.

الرضوح أو الحروق - عادة ما تؤدي الرضوح إلى نزيف ومتلازمة الخلل الوظيفي للأعضاء المتعددة وتوقف قلبي رئوي. وعند حدوث الحرق، من الأهمية البالغة بأن يتم توفير العلاج المناسب بسرعة. وحروق الدرجة الأولى والدرجة الثانية أصغر من حجم يد المريض. فإذا كانت المنطقة المحروقة أكبر من ذلك، أو تتضمن أجزاء وظيفية من الجسم مثل القدمين والوجه والعين والأذنين والفخذ أو تقع على المفاصل الرئيسة، فهناك حاجة إلى مزيد من العناية الطبية المركزة. كما تحتاج الحروق الأخرى التي تكون كهربائية أو كيميائية أو ذات صلة بالنار أو إصابة استنشاق الدخان إلى عناية طبية عاجلة.

يُدرّب أطباء الطوارئ داخل ميدكير على إكمال الفحص السريع والمركّز أولاً، ومن ثم اتخاذ القرارات بناءً على المعلومات المتاحة. وأي طبيب الطوارئ هو خبير يحتاج إلى "التنفيذ" في أي موقف يواجهه. وإذا لزم الأمر، يتم استدعاء الأطباء من التخصصات الطبية والجراحية الأخرى مثل جراحة الرضوح والتوليد وجراحة العظام والأشعة لتقديم الاستشارات والمساعدة في رسم خطة لرعاية المريض أثناء وجوده في غرفة الطوارئ.

لمعرفة المزيد عن المرافق الحديثة والشاملة في قسم طب الطوارئ في ميدكير، يرجى التواصل مع ميرا أو ليو.

تكلّم مع الطبيب مباشرة
طلب موعد