Today I will do what others won't, so tomorrow I can accomplish what others can't. – Jerry Rice

What is tennis elbow?

Tennis elbow is a condition that causes swelling and pain in the outer elbow and arm. It is caused when the tendons in the elbow are overloaded, usually by repetitive motions of the arm, elbow and wrists. The pain occurs primarily where the tendons of the forearm muscles attach to the bony bump on the outside of the elbow and can also spread into the forearm and wrist.

Possible Causes: 

Tennis elbow, called lateral epicondylitis in medical terms, occurs when there is an injury to the outer elbow tendons due to repetitive motions of the wrist and arm. Tennis elbow causes are usually repetitive motions due to sports or occupational activities.

Risk Factors: 

Repetitive motions due to one’s occupation – people whose jobs involve the repetitive motions that can lead to tennis elbow are manual workers such as plumbers, painters, carpenters and butchers.

Signs & Symptoms: 

Typical tennis elbow symptoms are:

  • Pain on the outside of your elbow.
  • Pain that spreads towards outer forearm and wrist 
  • Difficulty in shaking hands. 
  • Trouble gripping or holding objects.

Diagnosis: 

If you notice symptoms that could be tennis elbow, visit the Medcare Sports Medicine Centre for a proper diagnosis. The doctor here will note down your detailed medical history and symptoms, and will conduct a physical examination to confirm a tennis elbow diagnosis.

If your doctor suspects that there may be some other reason for your symptoms, X-rays or other imaging tests may be recommended. Electromyography (EMG) can reveal nerve dysfunction, muscle dysfunction or problems with nerve-to-muscle signal transmission that can associate tennis elbow condition.

Treatment Options: 

Meet a sports medicine specialist at Medcare for the best tennis elbow treatment plan for you. Your treatment may cover the following:

  • Conservative treatments like rest and over-the-counter pain killers are recommended. Often tennis elbow gets better on its own. 
  • Doctors will evaluate the underlying cause of the condition first. So, if your tennis elbow is related to a sport then Medcare doctors will evaluate your technique and suggest steps to reduce stress on your injured tissues.
  • Physiotherapy can help stretch and strengthen your muscles. Learn the right tennis elbow stretches and exercises. To reduce the pressure on your injury, a forearm strap or tennis elbow brace may be used.
  • Some nonsurgical procedures may be recommended, such as dry needling, or ultrasonic therapy.
  • Surgery is the last resort to remove damaged tissue.
FAQs: الأسئلة الشائعة:
  • What is tennis elbow?

    A: Tennis elbow is a condition that causes pain in the area where your forearm meets your elbow. Using your arm in a repetitive motion like in tennis or excessive manual work cause small tears in the extensor carpi radialis brevis (ECRB) tendon leading to inflammation and pain.

  • How do I avoid getting a tennis elbow?

    A: Avoid physical exertion that aggravates your elbow pain. Take some over-the-counter pain relievers and apply a cold pack 3-4 times a day. Above all, ensure that you are following the correct technique when playing your favourite sport. Do adequate stretched and warm ups.

  • I’ve been told that I have tennis elbow, but I’ve never played tennis! I’m confused.

    A: Yes, this can happen and is common. The condition is called ‘tennis elbow’ because the muscle group involved is used extensively while playing tennis. But people who play other sports, or whose work involves repetitive arm, hand grip and wrist motions can also get tennis elbow.

CALL DOCTOR NOW
REQUEST APPOINTMENT

سأحقق اليوم إنجازاً يفوق الآخرين، لكي أتمكن غداً من إنجاز ما لا يمكن للآخرين إنجازه. - جيري رايس

Please scan the QR code to download the teleMEDCARE app (iOS and Android users).

ما هو مرفق التنس؟

هي إحدى الإصابات الناجمة عن فرط استخدام المرفق. وكما يمكن أن يُفهم من الاسم، فإن لعبة التنس هي أحد أسباب ظاهرة "مرفق لاعبي التنس"، لكن هنالك أسبابا شائعة أخرى كثيرة للإصابة بهذه الحالة.

يظهر الألم بشكل أساسي في المكان الذي تتصل فيه أوتار عضلات الذراع بالنتوء العظمي في القسم الخارجي من المرفق. وقد يمتد الألم أيضًا إلى الذراع وإلى مفصل كف اليد.

الأسباب المحتملة:

يحدث مرفق لاعب التنس (التهاب مفصل المرفق)، الذي يطلق عليه التهاب اللقيمة الشديد من الناحية الطبية، عند حدوث إصابة في أوتار المرفق الخارجي بسبب حركات متكررة للمعصم والذراع. عادة ما تكون أسباب مرفق لاعب التنس (التهاب مفصل المرفق)، القيام بمجموعة من الحركات المتكررة بسبب الأنشطة الرياضية أو المهنية.

عوامل الخطورة:

الحركات المتكررة بسبب وظيفة الفرد - الأشخاص الذين تشتمل وظائفهم على الحركات المتكررة التي يمكن أن تؤدي إلى حالة مرفق لاعب التنس (التهاب مفصل المرفق)، هم عمال يدويون مثل عمال الصحية والرسامين والنجارين والجزارين.

العلامات والأعراض:

أعراض مرفق لاعب التنس (التهاب مفصل المرفق)، المعروفة هي:

  • ألم في خارج المرفق.
  • ألم ينتشر نحو الساعد والرسغ الخارجي
  • صعوبة في المصافحة.
  • مشكلة سحب أو مسك الأشياء.

التشخيص:

في حال لاحظت أعراضاً تدل على وجود مرفق لاعب التنس (التهاب مفصل المرفق)، فيجب عليك الإسراع بزيارة مركز ميدكير للطب الرياضي للحصول على تشخيص مناسب. سيقوم الطبيب هنا بتسجيل حالاتك الطبية السابقة بشكل مفصل وأعراضها، ويجري فحصاً لتأكيد تشخيص الإصابة بمرفق لاعب التنس (التهاب مفصل المرفق).
إذا اشتبه طبيبك في أنه قد يكون هناك سبب آخر لأعراضك، فقد يوصى باستخدام الأشعة السينية أو اختبارات التصوير الأخرى. يمكن أن يكشف تخطيط كهربائية القلب عن خلل وظيفي في الأعصاب أو خلل في العضلات أو مشاكل في انتقال إشارة العصب إلى العضلات التي يمكن أن تربط حالة مرفق لاعب التنس (التهاب مفصل المرفق).

خيارات العلاج:

قابل أخصائي الطب الرياضي في ميدكير للحصول على أفضل خطة علاج لمرفق لاعب التنس (التهاب مفصل المرفق)، وقد يشمل العلاج ما يلي:

  • يوصى بالعلاجات المحافظة مثل الراحة ومسكنات الألم دون وصفة طبية. غالباً ما يصبح مرفق لاعب التنس (التهاب مفصل المرفق)، أفضل بشكل تلقائي.
  • سيقوم الأطباء بإجراء تقييم السبب الأساسي للحالة أولاً. لذلك، في حال كانت الإصابة بمرفق لاعب التنس (التهاب مفصل المرفق) مرتبطة بممارسة الرياضة، فسيقوم أطباء ميدكير بتقييم أسلوبك واقتراح خطوات لتخفيف الضغط على الأنسجة المصابة.
  • يمكن أن يساعد العلاج الطبيعي في تقوية وتمدد عضلاتك. ويجب عليك معرفة حركات التمدد الصحيحة الخاصة بحالة مرفق لاعب التنس (التهاب مفصل المرفق)، ومن أجل تقليل الضغط على مكان إصابتك، يمكنك استخدام حزام الساعد أو الدعامة الخاصة بالتهاب مفصل المرفق.
  • قد يوصى ببعض الإجراءات غير الجراحية، مثل الوخز بالابر الجاف أو العلاج بالموجات فوق الصوتية.

الجراحة هي الملاذ الأخير لإزالة الأنسجة التالفة.

FAQs: الأسئلة الشائعة:
  • ما هو مرفق لاعب التنس (التهاب مفصل المرفق)؟

    ج: إن مرفق لاعب التنس (التهاب مفصل المرفق)، هو حالة تسبب الألم في منطقة التقاء الذراع بالمرفق. حيث يتسبب استخدام ذراعك بحركة متكررة كما هو الحال في التنس أو العمل اليدوي المفرط، بحدوث تمزق بسيط في وتر العَضَلَةُ الكُعْبُرِيَّةُ القَصيرَةُ الباسِطَةُ للرُّسْغ (ECRB) مما يؤدي إلى التهاب وألم.

  • كيف يمكنني تجنب الإصابة بمرفق لاعب التنس (التهاب مفصل المرفق)؟

    ج: تجنب المجهود البدني الذي يؤدي إلى تفاقم آلام المرفق. تناول بعض مسكنات الألم التي لا تحتاج إلى وصفة طبية مع وضع ضمادات الثلج 3-4 مرات في اليوم. قبل كل شيء، تأكد من اتباع الأسلوب الصحيح عند لعب رياضتك المفضلة. قم بحركات التمدّد والتحمية.

  • تم إخباري بأنني أعاني من مرفق لاعب التنس (التهاب مفصل المرفق)، إلا أنني لم أمارس لعبة التنس مطلقاً! وأنا أشعر بالحيرة.

    ج: نعم، إن هذه الحالة شائعة ويطلق عليها اسم مرفق لاعب التنس (التهاب مفصل المرفق)، لا سيما وأنها تصيب مجموعة العضلات المعنية التي تستخدم على نطاق واسع أثناء ممارسة التنس. إلا أن الأشخاص الذين يمارسون ألعاباً رياضية أخرى، أو الذين تتضمن أعمالهم حرمات متكررة في الذراع وقبضة اليد والرسغ، قد يعانون من مرفق لاعب التنس (التهاب مفصل المرفق).

Call Doctor Now
تكلّم مع الطبيب مباشرة
طلب موعد
احجز جولة في قسم الولادات